I’m Zaybab

I am the Grand-daughter of the one who
was sent as a mercy to all of man-kind.
I am the daughter of the one who is the
Chief Mistress of all woman in Paradise.

My father was known to be
the soul of Muhammad,
My brothers were sacrificed
to save this religion of the beloved.

By snatching my veil, O Yazid what
made you think my words would shut,
For look back O Yazid and see whose
lineage you have mistaken to hurt.

I am Zaynab, who is being dragged
with chains in the ally of Sham,
I am Zaynab, whose heart hasn’t
given up in the religion of Islam.

It is because of you, O Zaynab,
Sajjad’s life was spared,
For if Sajjad’ s life was taken,
without his written supplication
I would never knew the lord of heaven

Through Zaynab I learn that women
too can shake a tyrant’s throne,
Through Zaynab I learn that even by
being oppressed, to believe my lord is
with me in every step when I’m all alone.

Leave a Reply

